Hapnot honours Kweens, Kings stars remotely

Hapnot Collegiate’s annual athletics awards banquet went digital for 2020 due to COVID-19.

While the high school sports schedule in Manitoba was cut short this season, the school still honoured Flin Flon’s top student athletes June 22.

article continues below

Graduates Meghan Oliynyk and George Collen took the varsity sportswoman and sportsman of the year awards respectively. Cadence McIntosh and Rene Thompson shared junior varsity honours for sportswomen of the year, while Joel WIlliams and Ethan Patterson split the sportsmen for junior varsity.

The 2019 golf top player awards went to Ainsley McCracken and Brayden Abbott. The Kweens’ golf group won the Zone 11 banner this school year.

The Hapnot Kings soccer team also took home a Zone 11 banner this year. Patterson was named team MVP, with Williams, Mason McIntosh and Reece Johnson nabbing position awards.

The Kweens came up just short on penalty kicks at zones. Rylee Reierson and Alli Lytwyn shared MVP honours and Kenzi Schwartz and Karrie Dumas split the most improved award. Shanti Church was named rookie of the season.

Hapnot boasted five volleyball teams in 2019, striking success at zones at the varsity girls level. Maryn McKee and Reierson split the team’s MVP award, with Reierson also taking home top offensive player for the season. Leah Mote was named as the top defensive player, McCracken as most dedicated and Lytywn as rookie of the year.

For the varsity boys squad, Abbott was named the team’s MVP. Riley Schwartz and Mason McIntosh took home top offensive and defensive player awards respectively, with Johnson named as most improved.

The junior varsity girls volleyball team was split into two squads, with most awards split. Cadence McIntosh and Thompson shared MVP honours, Church and Gianna Watt shared rookie of the year and three players - Brooke Pfoh, Darah Brown and Maddy Jones - shared most improved. Peyton Beauchamp was named as the top defensive player and Alyssa Leslie was named most dedicated.

The other junior varsity girls squad saw Katrina MacQuarrie and Cailyn O'Hare split the MVP award and Tahaysia Pelletier win most improved.

The junior varsity boys only had one team, with Dax Lawrence and Jamal Lone sharing most improved honours. Williams won the leadership award and Patterson was named as the most consistent player.

For the junior varsity boys basketball team, coached by Sara Braun and Mackenzie Bortis, six players split a “heart and hustle” award. The team came one win away from taking the Zone 11 banner.

It was the same result for the junior varsity girls. Church was named team MVP. Watt and Morgan Markham won offensive and defensive player of the year respectively, with Hanna Lytwyn winning most improved. Thompson won the leadership award, also earning a shoutout as “the best captain”.

The senior varsity girls basketball team added to Hapnot’s zone banner count for the season, sweeping their zone playdowns. Meadow Taylor was named as the MVP with Elextra Colquhoun grabbing most dedicated honours. Church added on as both junior varsity MVP and varsity rookie of the year.

The varsity boys basketball team also came up one win short of a zone championship. Collen was named as the MVP and Freddie Ledoux was rookie of the year. Blaine Wilson and Arin Stevens split most improved honours.

Maguire Lee, the latest in a long line of standout Hapnot wrestlers, took home an MVP award on the mat. Kyle Gurniak won most improved.

On the curling rink, Caleb Baynton and Chloe Reitlo won MVP for their respective genders. Jerilyn Wood was named as the top rookie and exchange student Sean Vansweevelt, who embraced one of Canada’s national pastimes during his time in Flin Flon, was named most improved.

© Copyright Flin Flon Reminder


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Flin Flon Reminder welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Back-to-school plans POLL

How do you feel about provincial back-to-school plans?

or  view results