Bombers hand out player awards for shortened season

The best and brightest of the Flin Flon Bombers were honoured privately by the team March 18.

Instead of announcing the team’s annual award winners at an awards banquet following the end of the playoffs, the Bombers instead handed out the awards within the team’s dressing room. Both the banquet and the SJHL playoffs were cancelled due to concerns with COVID-19, which shut down the SJHL playoff race this year March 13 following the Bombers’ sweep of the Humboldt Broncos. The Bombers shared details of each award winner on the team’s social media pages.

article continues below

The biggest overall winner this season is forward Cole Rafuse, who earned a total of four honours. Rafuse, who finished the season tied with teammate Alec Malo for the team’s scoring lead with 88 points, split the George Leel Memorial Award with Malo for most points scored. Rafuse was also named team MVP, the RBC 3 Stars First Star and the Pat Spiller Memorial Award winner for scoring the most goals. Rafuse was named Sherwood division MVP late in the season and led all SJHL players in playoff points and goals, racking up five goals and 11 points in only four games against Humboldt.

Malo was previously named the Sherwood division’s player of the year.

Tristan Lemyre, the diminutive offensive dynamo from Quebec, won the team’s rookie of the year award and was named the RBC 3 Stars Second Star. Lemyre also received the team’s Diane Krokosz Memorial Award as most dedicated player. Lemyre was previously named the rookie of the year for both the Sherwood division and the entire SJHL.

Graduating forward Caleb Franklin was named the Bombers’ unsung hero and received the coach’s award as named by Bomber head coach and general manager Mike Reagan. Matt Flodell was named the team’s Mr. Hustle for his constant, grinding play as a defensive forward.

Donavan Houle-Villeneuve, the speedy Univ. of Maine committed forward, was named the team’s most popular player.

Goalie Jacob Delorme was named the RBC 3 Stars Third Star. The 3 Star awards are given out to the three players who are most often named their team’s first game star.

Mason Martin, the outgoing captain of the team, was named the team’s top defensive player and earned the Darcy Bancroft Memorial Award for best defenceman.

A pair of rookies also took home honours, as Jaeden Mercier and Cole Vardy each shared the Patty Ginnell Memorial Award as most improved players. Mercier also won the team’s academic award.


© Copyright Flin Flon Reminder


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Flin Flon Reminder welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Back-to-school POLL

How do you feel about this back-to-school season?

or  view results