Manitoba Votes: How and where to cast your ballot in Flin Flon

It’s Election Day in Manitoba - here’s how voters can have their voices heard in the Flin Flon riding.

The polls are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m today at 40 separate polls across the riding, laid out in 13 different communities.

article continues below

Flin Flon voters will cast their ballots either at the Flin Flon Community Hall (polls 11-15) or the St. Ann’s Roman Catholic Church (polls 16-19). Voters in Flin Flon will be told which polling location they should head to on their provincial Voter Information Card.

Cranberry Portage voters will vote at the Cranberry Portage Elementary School, while voters in Snow Lake will cast their ballots at the Lawrie Marsh Community Hall. Voting in Sherridon and Cross Lake will take place at each of the respective location’s Community Hall.

Two voting locations will be open in Norway House - polls 30-38 are at the Norway House Cree Nation Multiplex for status voters, while non-status voters will go to the Norway House Community Council building.

Mathias Colomb Adult Centre will be the voting location in Pukatawagan, while Leaf Rapids voters will cast their ballots at the community’s council chambers.

South Indian Lake’s polls will be at the O-Pipon-Na-Piwin Cree Nation Community Hall.

Polls in Lynn Lake will take place at the Lynn Lake council chambers. Brochet and Lac Brochet ballots will be cast at the Brochet Community Council building and Lac Brochet School respectively.

The final polling location is in Tadoule Lake, where voters can head to the Sayisi Dene First Nation council chambers.

In order to cast their ballot, voters will need either one piece of government-issued photo ID, like a driver’s license, treaty card or passport, or two documents that include the voter’s name, including a Manitoba Health card, Social Insurance card, a credit card or a utility bill. Voters already on a voters list who do not have ID can have another voter with ID vouch for their identity. Any voter whose name is not on the voters list will be asked to swear an oath.

Voters in the riding have four candidates to choose from: the Manitoba Liberal Party's James Lindsay, NDP incumbent Tom Lindsey, the Green Party of Manitoba's Saara Murnick and Progressive Conservative Theresa Wride.

© Copyright Flin Flon Reminder


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Flin Flon Reminder welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Aqua Centre POLL

How do you feel about the closure of the Flin Flon Aqua Centre?

or  view results