Skip to content

Ashton wins most northern votes, but not in Flin Flon: full results

Flin Flon, Creighton, Denare Beach each voted mostly for Conservatives in federal election

NDP MP Niki Ashton won northern Manitoba in a landslide victory last fall, but despite winning her seat by more than 6,300 votes, Flin Flon voters went a different way.

Poll-by-poll election statistics were released by Elections Canada April 6, covering each riding across Canada, including Churchill-Keewatinook Aski in northern Manitoba and Desnethé-Missinippi-Churchill River in northern Saskatchewan.

Results from advance polls and election day voting at Flin Flon-area polling stations went in favour of the Conservative Party of Canada (CPC) candidate, Cyara Bird.

Out of 2,465 votes cast at Flin Flon’s 11 polls, Bird received 1,077 votes, just ahead of Ashton’s 951 in the community. Liberal candidate Judy Klassen finished a distant third with 272 votes, while Ralph McLean of the Green Party received 117 votes. People’s Party of Canada candidate Ken Klyne received 48 votes - less than two per cent of the total vote in the community, but still higher than the 1.2 per cent of the vote he received across the riding.

In total, 2,482 Flin Flonners cast ballots in the election process, about 58 per cent of all eligible voters.

The federal results are in sharp contrast to the Manitoba provincial election held weeks before the national vote. In the Sept. 10 provincial election, NDP candidate Tom Lindsey received 1,084 votes in Flin Flon, ahead of Progressive Conservative candidate Theresa Wride’s 794 votes. Both candidates were based out of Flin Flon and reside in the community. In the provincial vote, Lindsey received more votes than any federal candidates, including Bird and Ashton, earned in Flin Flon itself.

Ashton may have lost the battle in Flin Flon, but she would come out on election night with 11,919 total votes throughout the riding, receiving the most votes in 49 out of 68 of the communities noted within the riding in Elections Canada statistics. Bird received the most votes in 10 communities, including Flin Flon, Snow Lake, Wanless and a number of smaller communities - Bissett, Clearwater Lake, Island Lake, Paint Lake, Pasquia Settlement, Ralls Island and Young’s Point.

Klassen, who finished third in the voting, “won” seven communities. Klassen and Ashton finished tied for the most votes in Pukatawagan, having both received 119 votes each.

In Thompson, Ashton’s hometown and campaign base, Ashton received 1,769 votes including the outlying area of Mystery Lake. That was over 500 more than Bird and over 1,200 more than Klassen.

Ashton received the most votes in The Pas and Opaskwayak Cree Nation (OCN), including the outlying areas of Ralls Island and Clearwater Lake. While the two mentioned outlying communities both voted for Bird, Ashton received 1,444 votes from the greater area, well over Bird’s 815, Klassen’s 393 and McLean’s 336 votes respectively.

Cross Lake went overwhelmingly to Ashton, as did Norway House. Sherridon, Cormorant, Leaf Rapids, Lynn Lake and other communities closer to Flin Flon voted more for Ashton than any other candidate.


Communities on the other side of the provincial border near Flin Flon saw a sharp split in party preference.

Results from Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River show Creighton and Denare Beach voted overwhelmingly for the eventual winner, CPC candidate Gary Vidal. Vidal received 531 total votes in the community, more than twice that of NDP entrant and incumbent Georgina Jolibois’ 232 votes.

Over 65 per cent of all eligible Creighton voters cast a ballot.

In Denare Beach, Vidal won by an even larger margin, getting 181 votes compared to Jolibois’ 67 and 48 votes for Liberal candidate Tammy Cook-Searson. Three hundred and thirteen votes were counted in Denare Beach, marking less than 50 per cent turnout.

In outlying communities near Creighton and Denare Beach, the scales tipped other ways. In Deschambault Lake, votes went overwhelmingly to Cook-Searson, giving her 185 votes to Jolibois’ 76 and only 11 for Vidal. Pelican Narrows and Pelican Narrows 184B each went overwhelmingly to Cook-Searson, with Jolibois finishing second and Vidal a distant third. In total Pelican Narrows-area voting, Cook-Searson received 428 votes, Jolibois earned 229 votes and Vidal received only eight. Sandy Bay saw a similar result, with 165 votes for Cook-Searson, 110 for Jolibois and 15 votes for Vidal.

Throughout the riding, a pattern emerged with Vidal and vote counts from both remote northern and Indigenous communities. Votes from communities with a higher population percentage of Indigenous people went toward Jolibois and Cook-Searson, while communities with lower percentages of Indigenous people swerved to Vidal.

According to results from the 2016 federal census, only two communities out of the 34 Vidal won last year - Chitek Lake and Green Lake - have a population that is at least 50 per cent Indigenous. By contrast, Sandy Bay, Pelican Narrows and Deschambault Lake (listed as Kimosom Pwatinahk 203 in the 2016 census) have populations that are above 95 per cent Indigenous. Cook-Searson won the vote in all three communities, along with 23 other communities including Sturgeon Landing, Montreal Lake, Cumberland House, Beauval, Pinehouse and Red Earth.

Vidal received the bulk of his votes in rural areas in the southern portion of the riding. Out of the two towns, 11 villages and 11 hamlets listed by the Saskatchewan government as northern municipalities, Vidal won four - Creighton, Denare Beach, Green Lake and Dore Lake.


Here is the list of communities “won” by each federal election candidate in both northern ridings last fall:


Niki Ashton (NDP)

Berens River







Cranberry Portage

Cross Lake


Dauphin River


Fisher River

Fort Alexander


Gods River

Gods Lake Narrows


Grand Rapids

Hollow Water


Jackhead Harbour

Lac Brochet

Leaf Rapids

Little Black River

Little Bullhead

Little Grand Rapids

Lynn Lake


Matheson Island

Moose Lake

Mystery Lake

Nelson House

Norway House

Opaskwayak Cree Nation

Oxford House

Pauingassi First Nation



Poplar River



Split Lake

South Indian Lake

Tadoule Lake

The Pas

Thicket Portage



York Landing

Cyara Bird (CPC)


Clearwater Lake

Flin Flon

Island Lake

Paint Lake

Pasquia Settlement

Ralls Island

Snow Lake


Young’s Point

Judy Klassen (LPC)


Garden Hill

Lake St. Martin

Pukatawagan *

Red Sucker Lake


St. Theresa Point


Ken Klyne (PPC) and Ralph McLean (GPC) did not lead votes in any community

*Pukatawagan ended in a 119-119 tie between Ashton and Klassen



Gary Vidal (CPC)


Big River

Big River No. 555


Candle Lake


Chitek Lake

Christopher Lake



Deer Ridge

Denare Beach

Dore Lake

Dorintosh-Greig Lake

Four Corners


Green Lake



Little Bear Lake

Loon Lake



Meadow Lake

Northern Pine


Rapid View

Shell Lake




Waskesiu Lake


Georgina Jolibois (NDP)

Bear Creek

Big Island Lake Cree Territory

Black Lake

Brabant Lake

Buffalo Narrows

Clearwater River

Flying Dust First Nation 105


Hall Lake

Island Lake

La Loche

La Loche-Descharme Lake

La Ronge

Lac La Ronge 156

Little Red River 106C


Michel Village


Reindeer Lake-Southend

St. George’s Hill

Stanley Mission

Stony Rapids

Turner Lake

Waterhen Lake


Wollaston Lake

Tammy Cook-Searson (LPC)



Big River 118

Canoe Narrows

Cole Bay

Cumberland House

Deschambault Lake


Grandmother’s Bay 219



Little Bear Lake

Mistawasis 103

Montreal Lake

Pelican Narrows

Pelican Narrows 184B


Red Earth

Red Earth 29

Sandy Bay

Shoal Lake-Ruby Lake

Sturgeon Lake 101

Sturgeon Landing

Sucker River 156C

Uranium City-Camsell Portage

Witchekan Lake 117

Sarah Kraynick (GPC) and Jerome Perrault (PPC) did not lead votes in any community

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks